Local parking guide

Parking in Southampton

What a parking ticket costs in Southampton, what a resident permit costs, who enforces it and how to challenge one.

Southampton City CouncilHampshireEngland

A first resident permit in most of Southampton's zones costs £30 a year — and in zones 13 and 14 it is free. That may change: in January 2026 the council published a proposal to raise it to £45, to double the price of visitor scratch cards and to cut the annual visitor permit's maximum stay from eight hours to four. On 29 September 2026 its permit pages still showed the old charges. On street and in car parks, prices are published only on the council's interactive map. Payment is by card, contactless or PayByPhone, which covers around 7,000 spaces at 130 locations.

Southampton City Council Hampshire England

Southampton numbers its residents' zones up to 27 but not every number is in use, so we do not state a total.

Parking charges are published only on the council's interactive map, not as text.

What a ticket costs in Southampton

Southampton does not state the amount of a parking penalty charge on its pages. It states the 28 days to pay and the 50 per cent reduction for payment within 14 days, but not the figure the reduction applies to. The amount is on the notice itself.

Paying by phone

Southampton City Council accepts PayByPhone. Check the sign in the bay for the location code before you start a session — it is the code, not the street name, that decides what you are charged.

Resident permits

First vehicle£30
Second vehicle£30
Valid for12 months

£30 for a first and a second permit in zones 2 to 12, 15, 16, 26 and 27. Zone 1 has no second permit, only a waiting list reviewed around April and October. Zones 13 and 14 are free. Zones 18 and 23 cost £60, zones 17 and 20 to 22 £100, with no second permit. A temporary permit is £15 (£12.50 in zones 20 to 22). An annual visitor permit is £30 and a book of ten scratch cards £6. A replacement permit costs £14. A council notice of 9 January 2026 proposes £45 instead of £30, £85 instead of £60 in zones 18 and 23, £45 for the annual visitor permit and £12 for scratch cards; on 29 September 2026 the permit pages still showed the current charges.

Who enforces, and where to appeal

Southampton City Council issues penalty charge notices for parking and for bus lanes. The reference on a parking PCN is the SN number at the top of the notice.

Make an informal challenge within 28 days; if you do it within 14 days, the discount is held while the council considers it. The council warns that a reply can take up to ten weeks. If the challenge fails, the registered keeper receives a notice to owner, then makes a formal representation, and after that can go to the Traffic Penalty Tribunal.

How to challenge a ticket, step by step →

Related rules

Other cities

Common questions

How much is a resident parking permit in Southampton?
£30 a year for a first permit in most zones, and the same for a second where one is allowed. Zones 13 and 14 are free; zones 18 and 23 cost £60 and zones 17 and 20 to 22 cost £100. Zone 1 has no second permit, only a waiting list.
Are Southampton permit prices going up?
A rise has been proposed. A public notice dated 9 January 2026 set out £45 instead of £30 for a resident permit in most zones, £85 instead of £60 in zones 18 and 23, £45 for an annual visitor permit and £12 for a book of ten scratch cards. On 29 September 2026 the council's permit pages still listed the old charges, so check before you renew.
Is the annual visitor permit changing in Southampton?
The January 2026 proposal would cut its maximum stay from eight hours to four in zones 1 to 12, 15, 16, 26 and 27, and raise its price from £30 to £45. Until the council confirms it, the current rules on your permit apply.
How much is a parking ticket in Southampton?
The council does not state the amount on its pages. You have 28 days to pay, and the charge is halved if you pay within 14 days of the notice being served. The full amount is printed on the notice.
How long does a Southampton parking appeal take?
The council says an informal challenge can take up to ten weeks to answer. Challenging within 14 days keeps the discount open while it is considered. If the challenge fails, a notice to owner follows, then a formal representation, and then the Traffic Penalty Tribunal.
Can I pay for parking in Southampton with an app?
Yes, with PayByPhone, which covers around 7,000 spaces at 130 locations. Card and contactless payment is also available. Prices are shown on the council's interactive parking map and on the machine.